Avid AEAn: at the the La Salle U.

20 Nov

Hi guys and gals! Call me Avid AEAn (until I get to think of a catchier pen name, or at least a less corny one). I’m just a random AEA member who happens to have way too much time on my hands to attend all AEA events and blog about it. (Just don’t bother to ask about my QPI. Or how I got access to make posts on this blog.) Note though: as much as I try to write about everything I experience, I may forget a thing or two, so bear with me and my Taglish writing, or better yet, hit the comments section for additional tsismis. And oh, parental guidance is recommended ;)

One random sembrea day (oo sembrea, bitin eh) as I opened my FB to do my routine profile-stalking Mafia Wars, I found out that I was tagged to this weird picture: 

(I mean, seriously, man?)

Kala ko nga cosplay event, so I signed up (thinking I’d appear as hybrid ng Oblation and FEU Tamaraw, para maiba naman.) Only to find out that I get to sit in a La Salle economics class to… learn stuff, and… go sightseeing. And since it’s only four days into the semester, heck, gotta give it a shot.

Aside for the early call-time, I had nothing to complain about the opening hours of the exchange program. Oh wait, medyo traffic pala. Pero we came in La Salle with minutes to spare for loitering in their mini-version of Macci Matteo Ricci (apparently they have these mini-study-halls in almost every building). And off we go to the first class.

AND HOLY SMOKES MAY AIRCON SILA EVERY CLASSROOM WOOHOOHOO :))

Not that I mind the Jesuits-love-nature-so-trees-are-better-than-aircon shtick, but that reasoning must go, if only for one-upping La Salle and nothing else. But aircon or no aircon, I find this first class (a Developmental Economics class) engaging. It did help that the prof was just twenty-something, and said that he had taught that section for various subjects already. But then the manner he discussed sanitation was clear (and graphic) enough even for someone who has yet to take Dev Econ. And no, wala namang kantyawan (or so I thought).

I remember him asking me though about thesis making in Ateneo for Economics students. And he’s kinda surprised that we do ours for a sem, while they do theirs for two sems to a whole year.

Then, off to lunch. They also have Happy House (you know, the Korean deli we have in Caf Up). And their version of Blue and Gold/AMPC offers a Mongolian bowl where you mix in two kinds of meat of your choice with any vegetable of your picking (either lahat yun or select or wala at all). But bottom line is, what we have in our caf, they also have it (well, aside from 7-11 and KFC). Pero.. MAS MURA ANG BILIHIN DUN!?!?!

During lunch, some of us exchange kwento over our respective classes, while some find their way to make landi with the DLSU EconOrg officers who ushered us for this exchange program. Istayl talaga ng mga mokong. *shakes head*

After lunch, they toured us around their campus. It’s quite amazing that as in halos all white yung campus buildings. Granted, sometimes they add shades of green, but the white facade is pleasing to the eyes. Or maybe because medyo sawa ako sa cream-and-brick at the Areneow (and, no, not the Faura, oh God NOOOOOO). But yeah, for a green school, they kinda lack greens.

(Watch out for Part 2, where I tell you more about the buildings, facilities and mga pa-next sceneries in the Animo school)

Leave a Reply

